Posts Tagged ‘moods’

Dhyana – How to Meditate

Friday, October 9th, 2009

In order to practise meditation we must satisfy the requirement of stillness of the body, an erect spine and closed eyes. These are important disciplines that allow energy and senses to become focussed upon our meditation. There are simple modifications if you are not able to assume the classical cross legged positions.

Dhyana or Meditation itself has four stages. These are relaxation of the mind, concentration of thought, elevation of the soul, and expansion of the spirit. These ideally culminate in varying degrees of peaceful or heightened experiences of consciousness.


Tags: , , , , , ,

Breath – Spirit Of Life

Tuesday, May 26th, 2009

Everything that is alive draws in life energy and expresses it in a process corresponding to respiration. 

Our life begins at our birth with an inhalation and our life will end with our last exhalation.  From cradle to the grave our breathing function does not let us down except in times of respiratory malfunction or disease.  Throughout the whole period of our life-span the breath will continue without a pause, in its interminable rhythm keeping us supplied with oxygen, giving us life energy whether we are aware of the process.

The majority of these breaths we take unconsciously, with many being taken in the hours of sleep. But we expect that when we go to sleep, the breath will continue, and that when we awaken, the process will have been maintained through our sleep and naturally be resumed.
It is a potent reminder of the absolute faith that we place in nature every time we go to sleep. 


Tags: , , , , , , ,

Lotus Theme for Meditation

Thursday, May 14th, 2009

For meditation purposes we harness the powers of concentration and imagination in order to create a framework for the soul’s explorations in the subtler life spheres.  The use of imagery is a most potent tool used to stir our deepest feelings. It is found that analogies are helpful in explaining the inexplicable and natural symbols speak to everyone in a language that is universal.  Nature’s beautiful forms and symbols are therefore used and one such exercise is in the Lotus Meditation.

The sacred lotus or water lily plant represents, symbolically, the five regions in which human consciousness functions. These are represented by the natural elements of earth, water, air, and fire, to which our consciousness is seen as correspondingly related in the roots, the sap and water growing medium, the life of the mind expands in the limitless freedom of the air and its spirit blossoms in the heat of the sun.


Tags: , , , ,