Posts Tagged ‘healing’

Dhyana – How to Meditate

Friday, October 9th, 2009

In order to practise meditation we must satisfy the requirement of stillness of the body, an erect spine and closed eyes. These are important disciplines that allow energy and senses to become focussed upon our meditation. There are simple modifications if you are not able to assume the classical cross legged positions.

Dhyana or Meditation itself has four stages. These are relaxation of the mind, concentration of thought, elevation of the soul, and expansion of the spirit. These ideally culminate in varying degrees of peaceful or heightened experiences of consciousness.


Tags: , , , , , ,

Yoga Chikitsa

Thursday, July 30th, 2009

Although yogic practices of Hatha Yoga are principally used as a method of preventing disease, they extend into the area of self-help therapy or Yoga Chikitsa.  Most of the healing disciplines originate in the ancient Ayurvedic system share many similar practices being incorporated in western naturopathic medicine today.

The philosophy behind the science is a respect for all life. It concedes that the tiniest expression of natural life has its design and purpose within life’s evolution, even the smallest atom, or ion. Within its basic philosophy and in common with the Chinese system of medicine


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Yoga Nidra – The Practice of Relaxation

Friday, July 3rd, 2009

Yama, the first stage in Ashtanga Yoga, represents the end of the old ways and the first positive stage in the practice of a new self image and the elimination of bad habits relating both to health and character.

The practices are to clear the way and demand the application of physical methods for inner body hygiene as well as the eradication of any layers of emotional and mental stress that may inhibit one’s progress to health and happiness.


Tags: , , , , , ,

Lotus Theme for Meditation

Thursday, May 14th, 2009

For meditation purposes we harness the powers of concentration and imagination in order to create a framework for the soul’s explorations in the subtler life spheres.  The use of imagery is a most potent tool used to stir our deepest feelings. It is found that analogies are helpful in explaining the inexplicable and natural symbols speak to everyone in a language that is universal.  Nature’s beautiful forms and symbols are therefore used and one such exercise is in the Lotus Meditation.

The sacred lotus or water lily plant represents, symbolically, the five regions in which human consciousness functions. These are represented by the natural elements of earth, water, air, and fire, to which our consciousness is seen as correspondingly related in the roots, the sap and water growing medium, the life of the mind expands in the limitless freedom of the air and its spirit blossoms in the heat of the sun.


Tags: , , , ,